Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 21 August 2009

Llamas, Alpacas and Dragons, oh my!

Wow.

What a summer.

If you are interested in viewing a photographic summary of my highlights from leading a course in Bolivia with Where There Be Dragons, check out my article on matadorabroad.com (click this link).

In a word: Revitalizing.

In two words: Awesome challenge.

In a haiku (and the words of one of my beautiful students):

By letting go and

diving into new cultures,

we find our true selves.

summer 09 dragons 522

I have been home in Arlington for nearly two weeks, and it has been wonderful to slow down, relax, bake, eat Asian food, visit friends and spend time with my family.  I have a couple days left to go before I fly back to La Paz on Monday.  Yes, that’s right.  I have signed up to do it all over again.  I will be working on the fall semester “Andes and Amazon” course, which has been newly accredited for college credit!  Twelve new minds, twelve new sets of eyes, two programs operating simultaneously, and two fabulous co-instructors.  It’s going to be a great semester.  I really do love my job.

I don’t know how good I will be at updating this blog while I am working, but please feel free to follow our adventures on the Dragons’ Yak Yak message board.

Just select “Andes & Amazon ‘A’ Semester, Fall 2009” from the “Current  Courses drop-down menu.

I hope the warm summer rain has been falling on your fields, and that the warm summer breeze has graced you with its presence.  I’m soaking up as much “American Summer” as I can while I am still in the Northern Hemisphere.  I even made it to an outdoor concert the other day.  One of America’s best traditions.

Paz.

Leave a Reply

Categories

