Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 24 March 2008

Sucre bound!!

I’ll make this short and sweet:

We got our site announcements today, and I am headed to a small town in the Chuquisaca department called La Palma. It’s about an hour north of Sucre, and they are rumored to cultivate some mean avocados and speak a lot of Quechua. I will be working with a nucleo of 7 schools, and soaking up the valley culture as much as possible. This was my first choice site for many reasons, so, needless to say, I am very excited.

There are 9 of us B47s headed to the Sucre region, and we will all leave this weekend for a week long site visit, where we will meet our counterparts and travel out to our sites to get the real low down.

It’s a beautiful day. 🙂

Responses

  1. Felicitaciones Hija!!
    Reading your blog while here in Northern Spain makes us seem much closer than the miles (and time zones) would suggest. Love, Dad

  2. Yeah for site assingments!! Great time!! Hope your loving it helen! I am so excited for you!!

  3. Yes Yes! First choice baby! I’m so happy for you, and even happier for me and all the avocados I’m going to eat when I visit you. ; )
    Loves

  4. Wow!
    I’ve already done as much wiki and google research as my limited spanish (and nonexistent quechua) allow. I’m so excited for you sis!

  5. doing what you do best….love to hear it. congrats on the assignment! much love from VA (I’m sending it via sunshine).. xo

  6. Your enthusiasm is heartwarming, Helen. I guess your assignment is “out in the boonies” and, I suppose, will offer you new perspectives on the ecology and on life in general. Where do the folks in Chuquisaca stand on Evo, autonomy, etc.? I’m looking forward to your next entry into “where’s Helen?”


Leave a Reply

Categories

