Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 4 January 2008

A New Year, A New Blog, A New Life…

Welcome, dear readers, to my new blog. A new domain, a new layout, and those cool tab thingys you can click on to view my contact info and a short bio!

I know what you must be thinking: “This is WAY better than the old site, Helen. It’s like Christmas has come again, and mere days after the previous one! Wahoooo!”

I thought the same thing.

I am biding my time here in good old Arlington, and have been keeping busy by eating Christmas cookies, seeing friends, and sorting through 25 years of memorabilia. I questioned my own sanity when I came across a box that was entirely full of old commemorative Coke® cans. I recycled the lot, save one from the glory days of the Washington Redskins’ last Super Bowl victory (1991?), which I have relocated to Victor’s equally large collection of stuff in our parents’ basement. You’re welcome, Victor.

My January 27th departure is fast approaching, although there are still days where it feels like these days will never pass. I got my Staging info from Peace Corps the other day, and I’m gearing up for my all-expenses-paid trip to the one and only: Arlington, Virginia!! I’ll spend my last three days in America right here in my own backyard as we sit through orientations and meetings and get shots and sign forms. The rest of the B-47s (47th group of PCVs in Bolivia) will likely be ambitious and make the most of their trip to Washington to sightsee. I’ll probably just take a nap before our flight leaves on the evening of Jan. 29th.

Oh, and in case you are curious: the photo at the top of the blog is actually one of my own. It’s sunset on the Isla de Ometepe in Nicaragua. Perhaps one of my favorite places on Planet Earth.

¡Feliz Año Nuevo!

And now, for your viewing pleasure: my interpretation of Teddy Roosevelt.

dscn2120.jpg

Responses

  1. Ooh, the new blog IS just like second Christmas, especially because it’s bookended by Ometepe and you/Teddy.
    It also makes me want to start my own blog, because yours is so pretty. Can’t wait to read posts from your exciting Arlington, VA orientation!

  2. Nice one on the Coke can save.
    I like the new format!


Leave a Reply

Categories

