Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 31 August 2007

On the road again

Well, it’s been nearly five months since my last post. I surprise myself to say that the last five months of staying in the same place have been every bit as exciting as the previous three of hardly staying in one place for a week at a time. I returned home from Asia in early April and immediately dove back into Adventure Links. Spring faded into summer and now summer fades into fall. I can’t believe it’s already Labor Day Weekend.

Anyone who’s ever spent any amount of time up on top of this mountain knows that it has a tendency to run away with you…that you all too easily forget about the greater world around you…that the lights will always be on in the staff kitchen to welcome you home…that you actually prefer the double barrels to a real toilet…that this place has the unparalleled ability to forge lifelong friendships almost instantly…that you always look forward to the mile long drive down the driveway, no matter how long you’ve been away…

Summer 2007 was filled with vehicle breakdowns (more than usual) and crazy parents, but we managed to bounce back from each and every challenge and kept pluggin’ on.

Fall season officially begins next week. I’ll be here (except when I’m not) until the end of October. However, this weekend begins my “Pre Peace Corps Rediscovery of America Tour”. I figured I’d start off with an old classic: the Labor Day Weekend trip to the beach. Two weekends from now, I’ll head down south, to the land of the pines to see some dear friends in North Carolina. After that, it’s a return to the great white north (and I sincerely hope it’s not snowing yet) to attend a wedding in Minnesota. I’ll then have one weekend off from travelling (but not from work) before heading back to the midwest to go to another wedding in Chicago the first weekend in October. The following weekend it’s down to Southern VA to see a friend, then it will likely be up into NY State to lead 8th graders down a river for a week as my final program for Adventure Links. Shortly after I finish at AL, I will fly west to California, where I will be spending the next 6 weeks volunteering with the American Conservation Experience…an international volunteering organization based in Santa Cruz, that does conservation projects all over the region (backcountry style) in some of the country’s most beautiful national and state forests. All in all, not a bad way to spend the fall before I depart for the Peace Corps!

I still don’t know where I will be going for the Peace Corps, or when exactly I’ll be leaving, but it won’t before the New Year. There are still so many places in the States I’d like to see (or re-visit), but I feel like I’ll be making a big dent in the list this fall, and I’ll be seeing lots of friends along the way.

I hope to begin posting more often as the fall picks up and I get my travellin’ boots back on.

But now, a photographic ode to Adventure Links:







Responses

  1. Smokin’ post. I’m back on your blog foraging for SE asia tips. Got stung by a big jellyfish today – that’s not going to happen in Minnesota. Much Love.


Leave a Reply

Categories

