Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 7 April 2006

End Chapter 1: Jinotepe

So, today is my last day at Juan Jose. I am certainly ready to move on from it, but this last week has been relatively productive and encouraging, so I will leave here on a good note. This afternoon, between sessions, there was a teachers’ meeting and one of the English teachers, along with the director said some very nice parting words of thanks for me, which was very nice.

Tomorrow I will leave Jinotepe to meet Andrea Gousen(who is travelling all the way from Copan Ruinas, Honduras!) in Esteli. From there, we are moving on to the Isla de Omtepe in Lake Nicaragua. After Semana Santa, Hadley Robinson is scheduled to be arriving in Nicaragua on her way home from Europe, SE Asia and Australia…it’s “on the way”, right? 🙂

Anyway, I am very excited to be starting my independent leg of this Nicaraguan journey, and to have some real time to travel. I am also thrilled to be able to share it with two of my oldest and dearest friends.

Of course, leaving Jinotepe is bittersweet. I will really miss the Vilchez family. They have been so wonderful, and have opened their home and their hearts to me, even during some very difficult times. I feel very much like a part of the family. I really look forward to returning to Jinotepe at the end of my trip to spend my last days in Nicaragua with them.

I think these next three weeks are going to fly by, and that I will be on a Chicago-bound plane sooner than I am ready for, but asi es la vida. I will try to stay in contact and try to update the blog as often as I can while I am travelling, but I cannot make any promises, as I am aiming for some more isolated regions of the country.

I hope this finds you all well. Que les vaya bien…

Leave a Reply

Categories

