Posted by: HelenRortvedt | 20 January 2006

Impressions

It’s been just about a week since I arrived here in Jinotepe. Each day brings new challenges and more familiarity…both are good. I finally got into the English Lab at Juan Jose today and was able to start thinking about ways to improve it. Efficiency and Sustainability are the key words. The main function of the English lab is to provide listening and speaking opportunities for the students. It will likely work out that each class visits the lab once a week for 45 minutes. Not a whole lot of time to make an impression, so efficiency is paramount. I will only be here until Semana Santa (April 8), and the school year continues on until November, so I need to be thinking about how the lab will sustain itself and be useful after I leave. I am open to suggestions if anyone has any experience in the field, or ideas in general.

I have a small amount of grant money to work with for improving the lab (it basically amounts to about $200), and I think that much of that money will go towards buying more headsets and tables to circumvent the classroom. However, I am also hoping to beautify the room a bit–make it look more like an English Lab, and not just any other room. I want to brighten the place up and make it look really nice, so hopefully some kids will be inspired to learn a little bit more–or at the very least, not vandalize the room. We’ll see though…

Things with my host family continue to be well. I think we might go to Granada tomorrow, about an hour away. I really like walking around in Jinotepe…it’s a small town, really. Not a city. Everywhere is walking distance and the mood is very tranquilo. There is a nice park in the center of town, shaded by lots of old trees. The park is surrounded by an outdoor market, the Cathedral of Santiago, the mayor’s office and a Chinese restaurant…which I have yet to muster up the courage to try! Something about Chinese food in Nicaragua that doesn’t seem to add up…

Hope all is well with everyone. Hasta luego!

Leave a Reply

Categories

